New Garden

March 21, 2008 at 10:20 am 1 comment

I suggest to you, let us stop placing this stone
at each other’s feet or before our own.

Let’s push it aside to open a door

to a healthier place we’ve been longing for.
 

There’s a Japanese garden
growing in my mind.

Creativity and necessity

caused it to be designed.

I took the boulder

that’s been on my shoulder

the one we’ve been pushing all these years,

which has caused such anguish and tears.

Yeah, so I took that rock and set it

next to a tiny pool

dreamed up a trickling stream

and some flowers on the rim.
Pink ones for the heart,

violet for the soul,

expressing spirituality

which helps to make us whole.
 

The rock is yet to be transformed.
It still weighs upon my shoulder,

brought from another lifetime

and we keep getting older.

We’ve been rolling it back and forth

weighing each other down,

caught in the silence of speechlessness

leading each other to frown.

Now I’ll add some rays of the sun,

to make us feel warm and alive.

Then this masterpiece will be done

which will help us again to thrive.
 

Come sit with me on this smooth boulder,
lean up against my lightened shoulder.

Take a moment to bathe in the sun,

soon enough there’s more work to be done.
 

Entry filed under: Family/Relationships, Poetry. Tags: , .

Birth Cleaning out the Closet

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. carolynlboyd  |  March 23, 2008 at 12:24 am

    I truly, truly love this poem.

    Thank you! It is my most recent poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


