Daily stuff or: why am I not satisfied?

May 8, 2008 at 8:45 am 2 comments

After my comments yesterday about the windows, what did I hear on the radio this morning? The woman who does the early show actually had the nerve to announce for everyone to hear that today is a good day to wash windows! So it looks like that’s what I’ll be doing. Writing about housework yesterday inspired me with the motivation to take on some larger tasks today, above and beyond the daily maintenance stuff. My secret is to put on good, loud, energizing music. Generally I listen to “Die Toten Hosen” – a German punk band. One time I was cleaning the bathroom, listening to “Warum werde ich nicht satt?” (“why am I never satisfied?”) and I had to laugh. I’m definitely on this planet with a higher calling than scrubbing toilets, but that is part of life!

If this all seems too non-bulimic in content, by the way, don’t be fooled. Part of recovery is also learning to be silly, laugh, and generally take the serious business of life (and ourselves) a tad less seriously. A playful, open, creative approach can go a long way. In a sense, it’s that childlike attitude that we adults tend to mourn losing, as we rediscover it in our own children and marvel at their ability to live in the now.

Since there is no specific topic today and I’m just finishing my coffee before starting those windows, I want to mention how happy I am that some bulimics have contacted me. It is not only rewarding to hear that my site has been a “blessing” to them (as one woman wrote), but also encourages me that I am on the right path. Originally, my book was supposed to be the way to reach people with my story. It still is. But that was before I’d heard of blogging. I consider blogging a wonderful way to reach out — both to give support and to seek it. It’s like one big anonymous meeting at my fingertips, available any time of day — at everyone’s convenience. Perfect! I’ve often complained about being born into this age of hi-tech, but this invention is definitely positive!

I think it’s wonderful that a few people have gathered their courage together and taken the step to contact me, simply because in that process they were able to let go of some denial, admit they have a problem and realize that they want to do something about it. That is a process of its own, and can take a while. I am not a therapist, but have collected a wealth of experience and have a lot to share. If it is an option, I strongly recommend therapy — either individual or group. Both possibilites I have used and both were helpful. In the meantime, feel free to continue writing, asking questions or just commenting.

Since I mentioned that song, I think I’ll share it today. Since I’m still not finished with my coffee, I’ll write you the words in English. It really is a great song!

Die Toten Hosen
Warum werde ich nicht satt?
Why am I never satisfied?

What a stupid question,
is that really necessary?
I have two cars because one is not enough.
They both fit in my garage, for me that is reason enough.
What else should I put in this garage next to my huge villa?
The tools for the pool are already in the garden shed,
and the toy train is set up in the cellar.

Every Sunday I count my money and it makes me feel really good
to know how much I’m worth, and at the moment I’m really up there.
I’ve had more luck than most, lived a great life
and if I really wanted something, I got it.

Why am I never satisfied?
Why am I never satisfied?

I am grateful for my life, I’ve learned a lot
I’ve survived all of my adventures in one piece
There were so many parties, and of course, lots of drugs,
and plenty of women as well.
I have wonderful friends who care about me
and the best place in the cemetary is reserved for me!

Why am I never satisfied?
Why am I never satisfied?
Why are we never satisfied?
Why are we never satisfied?

Entry filed under: housework, music. Tags: , , , , , , .

Housework and self-improvement Windows

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Wow those words are powerful as powerful as this post. Recovery is the whole package, it is getting back to who you really are, who you were and what you are going to be. You inspire me by your honesty and your willingness to help others. Thank you from the bottom of my heart my friend!

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    You are very welcome! Glad I can help! šŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


