Windows

May 8, 2008 at 6:33 pm 2 comments

Okay, this will be my last mention of housework for a while, and of windows in particular. I actually took my own advice, and simply decided to get started. I put on some good music and got to work. Believe it or not, it was just like I said! The moon is in Gemini (I just checked my calendar), the windows were easy to clean, absolutely no smearing, and the time flew by. I got to listen to three whole CD’s (Gung Ho and Land, disc one, from Patti Smith and Stadium Arcadium, Jupiter, RHCP). That was quite pleasant.

I confess, it took me a while to get started, but that was because I had to cook lunch, and anyway, you’re not supposed to clean windows when the sun is shining directly on them. In the morning I was too busy (had a second cup of coffee and sipped very slowly), so I had to wait. In the meantime, I practiced that cute little insanity song (“I wish”) I wrote the other day — over and over. I really like it. It has a very catchy tune.

The process of doing the windows and listening to music is very healing. Is it a coincidence that my thoughts are clearer now – like the windows? I doubt it. It’s good now and then to do something different, take care of a task from the bottom of the list. Some days I focus on really stupid things that I consider a waste of time, but it’s nice when they’re done. (You know – like wiping off the stair railing, door knobs and light switches, or the tops of light fixtures.) It’s kind of like clearing things out in the subconscious – nobody notices it, yet there is a different feeling in the air. And your hands don’t stick to the doorknobs! (My daughter had a couple of friends over the other day, and they helped her finally finish off her Easter bunny. All I can say is, teenagers can make just as much of a mess as toddlers!)

During a break I briefly discussed something I’d hesitated to mention with my husband. It didn’t bring quite the results I wanted, but it was one more step towards better communication. That’s good enough for today.

The moral of the story is: Just get started. It’s not as difficult as it seems.

Entry filed under: Coping, housework. Tags: , , , , , , .

Daily stuff or: why am I not satisfied? Weight

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Always found cleaning therapeutic not only for the symbology but also for the fact that it is mind numbing, it allows our minds to calm our and hearts to talk. Great post, the glare on those windows is reaching the night sky in SA 😀

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Actually, it’s kind of like meditating, only you get something accomplished while doing it. Therapeutic also to deal with stress. When life is crazy/messy, cleaning the house gives you some sense of order (and control??). I used to go on cleaning sprees before major exams at the university. That seems to be quite common. Glad to be making your sky in SA a little brighter! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


