Remembering First Love

May 15, 2008 at 9:42 am 5 comments

Today is a special day. I’m sure everyone can remember the first time they fell in love – and their first broken heart. (Hmmm… how many times can one heart break?) Well, today my first love celebrates his birthday, wherever he is. (I’ve always been good at remembering birthdays!) Rather than find a song about love that’s gone by or whatever, I chose the song that I associate with that time of our lives, because every time I hear it, I think of him. He worked as a dishwasher at a cool place in town, and I went there as often as I could, just to see him. This song could often be heard playing in the background. Hard to believe it was 30 years ago!

So think about your first love today. Maybe you’re still with him or her. Maybe not. Either way, say a little prayer of thanks that they are/were in your life. Every person you have ever loved has helped make you what you are today.

Give a little bit

Entry filed under: friends, life, love, Songs that kept me alive. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Coming back down to earth Hope, Dreams, Humility, Gratitude, and Patience

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  May 15, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Beautiful song 🙂 Wish I could have seen them live not pleased at destinies timing for my birth…!

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 15, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    You of all people know that you came at just the right time! And by missing them, you sure got to see a lot of other people live in concert! Can’t have everything, but you can have a lot! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. SanityFound  |  May 15, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    lol true everything has a time and place … but still can you just imagine seeing them live… or Nirvana for that matter… ah how amazing that would’ve been. You’re right I shouldn’t talk lol

    Music is life, life is living, living is breathing, breathing is healing

    Reply
  • 4. Middle Man  |  May 16, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    My First Love. Sigh. You can read all about it here:

    http://caughtinthemiddleman.wordpress.com/2007/06/27/early-education-part-3-3/

    Reply
  • 5. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 16, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Sighing back. I liked your story! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


