Encounter

May 21, 2008 at 11:08 pm 2 comments

Don’t hurt yourself or anybody else:
That is the foundation
for an enlightened society.

Didn’t mean to disturb your regal act,
suppose I could’ve used a bit more tact.
But when you start to push and shove
the ones I most dearly love,
adrenaline kicks in, there’s no stopping me then.

A woeful smile with admiration.
“So it actually can work?” you tentatively asked.
Again and again, but not all at once,
or continuously.
I begin to understand the meaning behind
good times and bad,
the fact that there can indeed
be bad times, which weren’t anticipated
in my fairytale expectations,
realistic though I claim to be.

Three years of silence, the first two churning down,
the third spent listening to what I once would
not hear above the white noise in my hurried brain.
Now it’s more than a song.
We figure out a few steps for our dance
in the rain.

Entry filed under: Poetry. Tags: .

Another winter Using vs. Killing Time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  May 23, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Brilliantly visual, beautifully written!

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 24, 2008 at 8:12 am

    thank you 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


