Recovery and Food

May 21, 2008 at 7:50 pm 4 comments

Whew! I was slightly out of it when I wrote the previous post. I’d like to clarify a few things. I don’t really intend this space as an advice column, yet I am happy to provide any information that is helpful. Then again, since things often turn out differently than we originally intended, I am open to whatever direction this takes. So I thought, if situations come up which remind me of what would have led to a binge, it might be helpful to write about them, and write about how I deal with them now. The mention of my unappropriate lunch was just to demonstrate that I’m not perfect, don’t eat perfectly, and sometimes I am rather lazy when it comes to food. But that is okay — as long as I don’t do it on a regular basis. The main thing really is about regular eating. Then the occasional sloppy, sweet, whatever “meals” don’t matter.

What I want to emphasize is the aspect of differing approaches and aspects. Although the bulimia or anorexia itself is not about food, food becomes part of the symptom. And it turns into a big problem for most of us. Thus, our eating habits are affected and do need to be dealt with in a practical way. That is just one level of recovery. The emotional healing, insight and growth are another. That part is more individual, although there are some common relationship/behavior patterns to be observed. In any case, a therapist can be extremely helpful with the psychological part.

Eating disorders are complicated. On the other hand, since there are so many different issues, we can start anywhere and go on from there. That allows for flexibility and individual preferences. Wherever you are, you can take one step and see where that leads. Just remember to be patient with yourself. Every little action you take counts, and it will take time. I don’t know if someone told me this or I made it up myself: “As long as it took you to get where you are, that’s how long it will take to get back. Approximately.” For me it is true. Hmmm… that sounds like something I would say. I bet I did make that up! ๐Ÿ™‚

Entry filed under: binge avoidance, eating habits and food. Tags: , , , , , , .

Comic Relief or a Nap First Love

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jigglebutt  |  May 21, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    I can’t tell you how enormously impressed and awed I am to find your blog. Your honesty about your eating disorder and your recovery is, quite frankly, astounding, and you have my utmost respect and admiration.

    If it’s okay with you, may I add you to my Blogroll? I think more people should hear about the impact of eating disorders, how it feels to be trapped within the cycle of disordered eating, and the process of recovery involved. As someone with binge-eating disorder, it would mean a lot to me if I could include blogs like yours on my Blogroll, as I often find I need support, myself, from people who understand…

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 21, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Thank you so much. Your feedback is very encouraging and I’m glad that you find my blog helpful. The more we open up and talk, the better we can help each other. We’re not nearly as alone as we might think! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  • 3. amandahox  |  May 23, 2008 at 1:49 am

    You’ve just defined my eating disorder, and the exact words i wished i could say when my friends asked to understand…
    ahh…
    thank you.

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 23, 2008 at 7:48 am

    You’re welcome. It has taken me many years to get this far, but it was worth the effort. I’m glad I can be of service to others.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


