Practice makes … pretty good

May 25, 2008 at 8:49 am 6 comments

One thing I want to make clear: I am an easy-going person. Some people call it lazy. But that’s not always true. If something really interests me, if I like to do it, if I want to learn something, I’ll keep at it until I succeed.

For example: I have always written (poetry, journal, and songs), I sing and play guitar every chance I get (even when I don’t really have time), and I love to read. Cleaning, cooking and physical fitness are different. That’s when I could be considered a lazy bum. Cleaning is a ghastly necessity, which is often reversed almost immediately when one has children and cats. Thus I do my best to keep these activities at minimum effort. Only what’s absolutely necessary! (I’m still glowing about the big window-cleaning day!) I do like to cook and eat, but I don’t want to spend a lot of time on cooking. There are other things I’d rather do. And then there is physical fitness. That is something I actually like to do, but it costs so much effort to get started!!! But I have noticed: the more often I do it, the easier it becomes. Two or three times a week would be great. Sometimes I manage to do that.

Why am I writing about practice? Well, I mentioned it yesterday and that got my thoughts churning. Practice is simply an important element of recovery. It takes a lot of practice to learn to eat. Not only chewing, but everything related: recognizing feelings of hunger and satiation, eating regular meals, taking the time to plan the meals, and accepting ourselves as we are. It may seem hard to believe, but after enough practice, it actually becomes routine. I am self-taught, both in eating and in guitar playing. I started with a few basic meals and chords, and practiced these until I could eat/play them quite easily. As time went by, I continued to expand and develop my repertoire. Now I’m pretty good at it. I am not the world’s best cook or guitar player, but am okay. I’d say I’m good enough. I still keep at it. I bet I’ll be even better in five years!

Entry filed under: About Recovery. Tags: , , , , , .

Great Response Just tired, not bingeing

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eric  |  May 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Great post! You don’t have to be the best, you just have to be pretty good. You may not be the best, but you are getting better. That’s what is important. I like your attitude.

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 25, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Thank you! I do believe that many people would feel much better if they could lower their expectations just a little bit. The key is to find that delicate balance, to be motivated to continue to grow and improve, yet be satisfied with one’s accomplishments in the moment as well.

    Reply
  • 3. SanityFound  |  May 25, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Practice makes perfect and even then we might falter, the trick is not to beat yourself up when you do. For every step backwards it is two steps forward… always

    Wise words that you have written here, thank you 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 25, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Exactly! Rather than beat ourselves up, let’s just pick ourselves up, brush off the dust, and continue on the path. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Stephen M (Ethesis)  |  May 25, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    “It takes a lot of practice to learn …”

    I like that. It is the key to life, really.

    Reply
  • 6. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  May 25, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    I agree, it is the key to life. It’s simple but not easy, and there’s always something to practice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


