Desire to Recover

June 5, 2008 at 5:07 pm 8 comments

When I was sick back in 1981, I did want to recover. At the age of 19 I was subletting a subterranean apartment on West 57th Street in Manhattan for 3 months. I was earning a good amount of money for the first time in my life, and spent most of it on food. That was a doorman building. I had figured out the shifts so nobody would see me carrying bags of groceries back twice in one day. It was a very nice apartment, a large studio really, with a window facing the street which allowed me to watch people’s feet as they walked by.

This image came to mind for the funniest reason. My son is studying for a music test and one chapter is: The Beatles! Among other things, they learned that John had married Cynthia, and then later he met and married Yoko. I took out my Beatles and John Lennon CD’s, wanting to improve my son’s knowledge about their music. And there on the John Lennon CD was “Instant Karma.” I was transported back to the above apartment, and I remembered listening to that song over and over again, dancing, swearing I would recover some day, and singing along to the words: “Better get yourself together darlin’, join the human race.”

So, no long reflective text on anything today! I just want to share this song and hope it gives you the same powerful inspiration I felt back then. For a while I considered John Lennon to be my higher power. We all shine on!

Instant Karma

Instant Karma’s gonna get you
Gonna knock you right on the head
You better get yourself together
Pretty soon you’re gonna be dead
What in the world you thinking of
Laughing in the face of love
What on earth you tryin’ to do
It’s up to you, yeah you

Instant Karma’s gonna get you
Gonna look you right in the face
Better get yourself together darlin’
Join the human race
How in the world you gonna see
Laughin’ at fools like me
Who in the hell d’you think you are
A super star
Well, right you are

Well we all shine on
Like the moon and the stars and the sun
Well we all shine on
Ev’ryone come on

Instant Karma’s gonna get you
Gonna knock you off your feet
Better recognize your brothers
Ev’ryone you meet
Why in the world are we here
Surely not to live in pain and fear
Why on earth are you there
When you’re ev’rywhere
Come and get your share

Well we all shine on
Like the moon and the stars and the sun
Yeah we all shine on
Come on and on and on on on
Yeah yeah, alright, uh huh, ah

Well we all shine on
Like the moon and the stars and the sun
Yeah we all shine on
On and on and on on and on

Well we all shine on
Like the moon and the stars and the sun
Well we all shine on
Like the moon and the stars and the sun
Well we all shine on
Like the moon and the stars and the sun
Yeah we all shine on
Like the moon and the stars and the sun

Entry filed under: inspiration, music, singing, Songs that kept me alive. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Life these days Farewell

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  June 5, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Haven’t heard this song in ages, the lyrics have always been power for me for similar reasons – its the kick you in the butt song 🙂

    May you shine on like the moon and the stars and the sun my friend, shine on for you are shining brightly!

    Reply
  • 2. SanityFound  |  June 5, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    PS Sorry for the spellers its past my bed time and I can’t see straight

    Reply
  • 3. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Definitely kick you in the butt song! And now it’s past my bedtime. Good night!

    Reply
  • 4. Maria  |  June 6, 2008 at 1:54 am

    Instant Karma is one of my favorite songs. Thanks for sharing. I just did a mini-dance in my office.

    Reply
  • 5. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 6, 2008 at 9:27 am

    You’re welcome! Keep shining on! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. carolynlboyd  |  June 6, 2008 at 10:44 am

    I love this song and had completely forgotten about it. I always adored John’s hard-headed, commonsensical way of looking at life. Thanks for bringing this song back into my life!

    Reply
  • 7. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 6, 2008 at 11:29 am

    I’m happy to bring it back to you. Isn’t it wonderful how the same song can mean so many different things to different people, and bring us together? Good to hear from you! 🙂

    Reply
  • […] a number of posts that I feel will touch many hearts the world over. Her recovery from one of the biggest diseases to hit this planet is nothing short of pure inspiration, the fact that she is able to share her […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


