Farewell

June 7, 2008 at 11:29 am Leave a comment

Once I saw you enter this world
and now I’ve watched you leave.
Powerless, helpless by your side
I am consumed by grief.

You walked with me on this path for a while
I hoped you’d be here longer,
but fate and powers beyond my control
have proven they are stronger.

At least I was able to give you more
than some receive their whole lives:
love, attention, and caring devotion
upon which your tender soul thrives.

So full of promise,
with a future so bright,
that you have to leave now
just doesn’t seem right.

I thank God that I knew to treasure you
and for all the things that we did,
for the dear memories we could collect
before farewell we had to bid.

Many days I sat next to you
as you prepared to go,
and felt that aching endless pain
only a parent can know.

You’re destined for a higher plane,
a brighter point of view.
Wherever you go, please remember me
and how much I love you.

Entry filed under: children, Grief and Loss, Losing a child to illness, Poetry. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Desire to Recover Gifts of Recovery

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


