The Adventures of Recoveredbulimic

June 16, 2008 at 8:20 am 2 comments

If anyone thinks I have a tendency to glorify my adventures, well I do. I’m doing now what most people do when they are younger – perhaps with less consciousness and appreciation than I have now. All I know is, I’m doing now what I wish I’d had the courage and energy to do when I was in my early 20’s, but by now most of you know what I was doing instead. For any new readers, this blog is written by a recovered bulimic, and back in those days recovery was just one more unattainable fantasy.

So if it seems like I’m bragging or making a big deal out of normal life adventures, you’re right. Because I got off to a late start, I really appreciate very much the fact that these experiences are (still) possible.

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , , , , , .

Father’s Day Recommended Reading: Veronika decides…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maggie  |  June 16, 2008 at 8:46 am

    hey..i found your blog and just would like to see how it is to recover from bulimia….im a young 15 but ive been bulimic since i was about 12…i dont see any point in giving it up…maybe reading your blog will….just maybe (doubt it..:( may change my minde..
    <33

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 16, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Glad you stopped by. Since I’m so much older, you might find it hard to relate – since I’ve been married for many years, have kids and stuff like that. But if you take a look at the book excerpts – I started writing my journal when I was 10, and the bulimia started when I was 13. Maybe that might be helpful.

    On the outside, I would encourage you to give it up – the sooner the better. But since it doesn’t seem to be a problem for you right now, don’t worry about it. If it becomes a problem, help is out there. When I first started, I thought it was a cool trick. I could eat all I wanted and not gain weight. And everybody said: “Oh, you’re so skinny!” But eventually I realized that I couldn’t stop. That’s when it became a problem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


