Be careful what you wish for, you might get it!

June 19, 2008 at 12:42 pm 6 comments

That’s what my friend Carolyn told me some 25 years ago, and I’ve never forgotten it. Lately I’ve come to the realization that I want to be financially independent. In other words, either I win the lottery or I get a job. Most people would think a job is more realistic at this point, but since I’ve been out of the work force for the past 18 years, during which I was a student and became a mother, I’ve lost touch. For a while, a lottery jackpot seemed just as probable as a job.

It is often so that when we don’t do something for a long time, we lost confidence in our ability. For the past few months I’ve thought about getting a job, but just didn’t think I could do anything. Sure, I have a Master’s in Psychology, but I don’t have any work experience beyond the 6-week practical experience requirement for the degree. For a few weeks, I felt old and hopeless. Then a strange thing happened. I started to think about what I could do, and all of a sudden there were possibilities and now I have a bunch of things to research. For example, someone told me about an online course to learn to teach English as a foreign language. That would be fairly simple. There are other ideas and possibilities, but I won’t bore you with particulars.

The other day, I was drinking coffee with a friend and mentioned that I have to find some kind of work. The next day she called me and said I should come over quickly, because she wanted to introduce me to someone. (She only lives 2 doors away from me.) I went over and met a woman who is looking for someone to join their team of counsellors. What a coincidence!!!!??? (I don’t believe in coincidences.)

I balked at the prospect of suddenly having a job, as it was a bit too fast. But the more she told me about it, the more attractive the possibility became. And it’s not a job at a fast food restaurant, but actually in the field of psychology! So all my schooling wasn’t a waste after all. It wasn’t anyway. I learned a lot of valuable things and frequently apply that knowledge to everday life.

On Saturday I can go and do a trial counselling day, and then on Monday I have an appointment to talk with her and decide if I want the job. It kind of caught me by surprise, but after all, I did say that I wanted a job!

There are two messages here: The first, about knowing what you want when you wish for it, is clear. The other one is: Don’t give up hope! Believe in yourself! For the longest time I was almost depressed because I felt so useless and beyond reality. Just in the course of the past week, through some good constructive discussions with my girlfriends, I realized I can do something. Yet again my friends are there for me! I began to believe in myself, and that is the energy I sent out to the universe. What happened? I got a job offer!

Now I don’t want to jump to conclusions. She or I may decide that the job isn’t suitable for me. That doesn’t matter. The point is: When I believe in myself and start taking appropriate actions — in my head — then things happen. I trust that I will find a good job. It doesn’t have to be the job of the century. I don’t have to stay there for 5 or 10 years. I’ll just try it out and go from there.

Of course, if I win the lottery in the meantime, that would be fine. But rather than count on that, I’m going to reawaken my slumbering capabilities and rely on my knowledge, remind myself that I don’t have to be perfect and that it will take time to adjust, and get myself in shape mentally for work in the outside world. I trust that everything will fall into place and be as it should be.

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Recommended Reading: Veronika decides… Strange People

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. shouldisay  |  June 19, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Ive been thinking about coincidences a lot lately and I am looking for a job, and purpose – thank you for your words and encouragement

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 19, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Be clear about what you want and think positive! All will turn out for the best. Sometimes the hardest task is to recognize it! πŸ™‚
    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. Amber  |  June 20, 2008 at 4:09 am

    God has a plan for you my dear… you might as well just be obedient and go with it!

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 20, 2008 at 5:51 am

    Thank you! I’m allergic to the word “obedient” but I suppose you are right! Momentarily the big challenge for me is to be active in whatever situation, without attempting to control everything (and everybody!). I want to participate and let go, leaving the rest up to God. As you say, he has a plan. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. SanityFound  |  June 22, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    lol RB that word gets me every time as well! Ams still holding thumbs galore, toes to, cat in the bag with big grins πŸ˜€

    This is so good for you!

    Reply
  • 6. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 22, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Thank you dahlink!! πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


