Just imagine!

June 23, 2008 at 1:08 pm 4 comments

Today was the last session of a short-term therapy. Yes, it is even a good idea to get some therapy now and then when times get rough – even if the eating disorder symptom is long gone. I needed support this past winter and spring, so I got some.

We had a nice closing conversation, which gave me plenty of encouragement and food for thought, and then I headed home. Half-way there, I decided to turn around and go out for lunch. I didn’t have to cook today, so why not treat myself? I went to a nice place that isn’t all too expensive and ordered my favorite thing – chicken done in the wok with curry/coconut sauce and rice.

I ate my lunch, lost in my thoughts. The proprietor came over to ask if everything was all right and I assured him it was just fine. It was different somehow, but I didn’t really worry about it. When the waitress brought the check, I was rather surprised to see that it cost 3 Euros more than I expected. We examined the menu together and then I understood why it had tasted different. I’d eaten the chicken teriyaki wok with glass noodles and pineapple!

Well, I was very disappointed, because I had been looking forward to the curry and coconut, and annoyed that it cost so much. It had not been my intention to splurge. As I was leaving, I said goodbye, then turned around and walked back over to the owner, who was just eating his lunch. I told him it was good, but that I’d been served the wrong meal and was rather disappointed, but had been so lost in my thoughts that I didn’t notice. He offered to give me the 3 Euros difference, but I said No, since I did eat the other meal. We agreed that next time I go there, I get a free cup of coffee.

This really makes me laugh, because I can’t believe how absurd it is. But that’s what happens when my thoughts are elsewhere – I’m not aware of the situation at hand, not even of things that may irritate or annoy me, until it may be too late. Or as in this case, I’m not even getting what I asked for! Of course, this is a minor incident on the Richter scale, but it’s a good one to point out that I need to wake up!

Entry filed under: eating habits and food. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Life it’s a changin’ Letting Go

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  June 25, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    rofl phew ok so I’m not the only one that can go through a meal and not even realise it is the furthest thing from what I ordered and all because I was thinking! 🙂 glad you’re getting a cuppa coffee!

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 25, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    So when you get to Europe, I’ll meet you for lunch! OK? Then we can quiz each other: do you know what you’re eating? Is that what you ordered? 🙂 Ok – back to bed and rest!

    Reply
  • 3. SanityFound  |  June 25, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    oooo now that sounds like fun!!! Can’t wait we’ll be sitting there going “erm do you remember what I ordered?” “Where did that empty bottle of wine come from???”

    Soon my dear soon!

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 26, 2008 at 6:27 am

    okey dokey! That gives me something to look forward to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


