Happy Blogday!

June 29, 2008 at 4:38 pm 3 comments

I see that this will be the big one-oh-oh (Nr. 100), so I’d like to do something special. Lots of you have been writing longer and are probably in the hundreds by now, but for me it’s a milestone. I was just sort of taking yet another nap — am I getting old? Oh, how could I forget? I had an accident and am supposed to rest! Unfortunately, that resting state is conducive to wild thoughts and ideas. Just kidding! It’s as much fun as going off on a tangent! Actually it feels more like when I was 16, lying flopped on my bed, staring at the ceiling, listening to the music blaring with incredible lyrics and guitar riffs enveloping my entire being.

Anyway, I youtubed Behind Blue Eyes from the Who, which I’ve had on my to-do list for months. After that I opted for a CD I haven’t listened to in ages, and I thought up a brand-new category: Songs that kept me alive. I cannot emphasize enough how much music has always meant to me. I just couldn’t make up my mind which I like more, so here are two special ones. For the weak of heart, you might want to listen to meditative music and just read the lyrics. Don’t say I didn’t warn you! 🙂 Otherwise… enjoy the full experience!

LOOKING FOR TODAY

It’s complete but obsolete
All tomorrows become yesterday
In demand but second hand
It’s been heard before you even play

Up to date but came too late
Better get yourself another name
You’re so right but overnight
You’re the one who has to take the blame

Everyone just gets on top of you
The pain begins to eat your pride
You can’t believe in anything you knew
When was the last time that you cried

Don’t delay you’re in today
But tomorrow is another dream
Sunday’s star is Monday’s scar
Out of date before you’re even seen

At the top so quick to flop
You’re so new but rotting in decay
Like butterfly so quick to die
But you’re only looking for today

Everyone just gets on top of you
The pain begins to eat your pride
You can’t believe in anything you knew
When was the last time that you cried
Looking for today

Glamour trip so soon to slip
Easy come but oh how quick it goes
Ten foot tall but what a fall
Hard to open yet so easy to close
Front page news but so abused
You just want to hide yourself away
Over-paid, but soon you fade
Because you’re only looking for today
Looking for today

KILLING YOURSELF TO LIVE

Well people look and people stare
Well I dont think that I even care
You work your life away and what do they give?
Youre only killing yourself to live
Killing yourself to live
Killing yourself to live

Just take a look around you what do you see
Pain, suffering, and misery
Its not the way that the world was meant
Its a pity you dont understand
Killing yourself to live
Killing yourself to live

Im telling you
Believe in me
Nobody else will tell you
Open your eyes
And see the lies, oh yeah

You think Im crazy and baby
I know that its true
Before that you know it I think
That youll go crazy too

I dont know if Im up or down
Whether black is white or blue is brown
The colors of my life are all different somehow
Little boy blues a big girl now

So you think its me whos strange
But youve never had to make the change
Never give your trust away
Youll end up paying till your dying day

Entry filed under: solitude, Songs that kept me alive. Tags: , , , , , , .

Water Balloons and Teenagers Olé! All is fair!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  June 30, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Congrats you!!! *does loopy dance* that is so kewls!!!

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  June 30, 2008 at 9:06 am

    danke, danke!

    Reply
  • 3. SanityFound  |  June 30, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Bitte!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


