Character defects

June 30, 2008 at 9:05 am Leave a comment

You can’t live with them, can’t live without them. Don’t worry, I don’t intend to pontificate. I haven’t overcome mine either.

Today I’d like to look at envy, jealousy and self-pity. There’s no need to go into particulars. Let’s just say we’re better acquainted than I care to admit. But I do admit it! What are these feelings about? Feeling cheated, inadequate, shown up, that I was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Today I remind myself of the larger picture — that each of us has her destiny to fulfill. Even though the planet is getting slightly crowded, there are still enough destinies to go around. Isn’t that amazing?

So just for today I pray for the willingness to let go. (Here we go again with that letting go — that just never seems to be finished!) I pray for the willingness to trust that everything is as it should be. Those who seem to be where I’d like to be now, or who have achieved what I’d like to have now, they have already paid their dues. Rather than feel cheated or jealous of the support they have, I can interpret their example as a source of encouragement. You know: “If she can do it, so can I!”

Today I want to accept where I am and remember that my path is unique. Even if someone else’s path may appear to be more attractive, it’s not mine. On the contrary, it just shows me one more possibility and encourages me to be creative.

That’s pretty much it. For those who are a bit more curious, don’t even think for a second that this has anything to do with my great heroine! The motivational force for these reflections is of a more mundane nature.

Entry filed under: life, self worth/self esteem/body image. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Patti Smith: Goddess and girl next door Understanding[,] sympathy and humor

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


