Patti Smith: Goddess and girl next door

June 30, 2008 at 8:26 am 1 comment

I’ve hesitated to write this piece, because I am in awe of this woman and know I cannot do her justice, despite the fact that she is so real and down-to-earth. Don’t be fooled — she’s a visionary goddess as well.

Her music is the main influence of my life. And the endless hours I spent blasting her music — nearly blowing my speakers — gave me hope and energy. Luckily we lived on a dead end street out in the boondocks and had no immediate neighbors, so volume wasn’t a problem. I find it fascinating to hear the various stories from fellow fans, and how often they merge in a shared declaration: “She saved my life.”

She remained true to herself, authentic, still does her thing, never wavered, has survived injury and great loss, and has remained a constant influence over the past 30 years. Constant and in motion, ever growing. She’s a remarkable person, a blessed artist, and a proud mom!

My favorite quote: “If you try to act like it’s not going on, you’re not taking advantage of the full situation.” I’m pretty sure that’s from the Live at the Bottom Line bootleg, which I somehow lost several years ago.

I do not have a favorite song, but if I have to pick one and only one (today), then I choose Distant Fingers. Unfortunately, it isn’t on youtube. So I’ve opted for another great one, which I’ve always loved.

Pissing in a river

Pissing in a river, watching it rise
Tattoo fingers shy away from me
Voices voices mesmerize
Voices voices beckoning sea
Come come come come back come back
Come back come back come back

Spoke of a wheel, tip of a spoon
Mouth of a cave, I’m a slave I’m free.
When are you coming? hope you come soon
Fingers, fingers encircling thee
Come come come come come come
Come come come come come come for me oh

My bowels are empty, excreting your soul
What more can I give you? baby I don’t know
What more can I give you to make this thing grow?
Don’t turn your back now, when I’m talking to you

Should I pursue a path so twisted?
Should I crawl defeated and gifted?
Should I go the length of a river
[the royal, the throne, the cry me a river]
Everything I’ve done, I’ve done for you
Oh I give my life for you.
Every move I made I moved to you,
And I came like a magnet for you now.

What about it, you’re gonna leave me,
What about it, you don’t need me,
What about it, I can’t live without you,
What about it, I never doubted you
What about it? what about it?
What about it? what about it?

Should I pursue a path so twisted?
Should I crawl defeated and gifted?
Should I go the length of a river,
[the royal, the throne, the cry me a river]
What about it, what about it, what about it ?
Oh, Im pissing in a river.

Entry filed under: Songs that kept me alive, strong women. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Go ask Alice Character defects

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tiktiki  |  July 6, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    i love patti too!

    thanks a lot for this blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


