School’s Out!

July 7, 2008 at 11:46 am 4 comments

Here things are a bit later. School got out here on July 4th. Happened to stumble upon this song, which I have always loved. The movie I saw on TV as a kid, and I’m still touched by it when I think back. It is an incredible film with Sidney Poitier.

To Sir, with Love

Those schoolgirl days of telling tales and biting nails are gone
But in my heart, I know they will still live on and on
but how do you thank someone
who has taken you from crayons to perfume?
It isn’t easy, but I’ll try.

If you wanted the sky
I would write across the sky in letters
That would soar a thousand feet high
To Sir, with love.

The time has come
For closing books, and long last looks must end
And as I leave
I know that I am leaving my best friend
A friend who taught me right from wrong
And weak from strong
That’s a lot to learn
What, what can I give you in return?

If you wanted the moon
I would try to make a start
But I would rather you let me give my heart
To Sir, with love

Entry filed under: Great film songs. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Pete Seeger Pulling the rug out from under my feet

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amandahox  |  July 7, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    July 4th?! omg, that’s SO late.. I wouldn’t like that lol! I was done June 18th this year, earlyer than eerybody else in my school too lol (i had less exams)
    If you don’t mind me asking, where are you from?
    I know actually, that in London they finish a bit earlyer than us here in Canada, but my friend has more classes than me, so in the end, exam sessions end at the same time.

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  July 7, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I’m actually from a little town in Upstate New York, but now I live in Austria. It all balances out – the kids don’t go back to school until the middle of September. But July 4th is late – and it’s so hot!!!

    Reply
  • 3. InSanityFound  |  July 8, 2008 at 10:09 am

    shush no mention of summer, warmth, heat, big yellow balls or nothing… its sub zero here I swear it!!!

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  July 8, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Oh, you poor thing. Guess we got to keep you laughing to keep warm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


