Determination

July 30, 2008 at 8:25 am 7 comments

This will be just a quick note, but I’m so impressed by the results that I had to share it. Yet another late-night chat with my precious spiritual connection (who happens to be in the same time zone though on a different continent) sparked more insight. I’ll skip the preliminary explanatory stuff, as I plan to write about that later. I’ll skip right to the next paragraph.

She said: Write a word to describe yourself every day. Put that piece of paper in your pocket. Keep it with you all day. I needed to clarify: Characteristic or feeling? She said I could do both, but feelings can change in the course of the day. I decided to just write the characteristic and put it in my pocket, but think of a feeling and observe how it changes during the day.

Before parting, she said: Tell me a word to describe yourself right now. Then she started counting backwards when I hesitated: 5, 4, 3… I said: Determined! And I feel excited!

Strangely enough, I woke up this morning feeling determined. And tired. But now that I’ve been up for a couple of hours, that sense of excited anticipation about what the day will bring is spreading itself over the tiredness. Wow! I don’t even need a whole sentence of affirmation. Just a single word can be effective!

Neverthessless, today is a new day, so I just picked a new word. Able. I am able to accomplish whatever I set out to do. 

Think about it. Try it. It only takes a minute. You may be surprised.

Have a great day! 🙂

Entry filed under: Affirmations. Tags: , , , , , , , .

On finding myself I don’t deserve it

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rakesh Sharma  |  July 30, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Its a very Brillient idea for anybody to improve him/her self. Thanks Dear.

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  July 30, 2008 at 9:59 am

    You are very welcome. My connection is SanityFound (also on wordpress), if you are interested. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. SanityFound  |  July 30, 2008 at 10:06 am

    I love today’s word! Able – how true it is for that is one thing that you are! Can’t wait for tomorrows word but don’t cheat and start thinking of it now… no cheating!

    I am smiling big smiles!

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  July 30, 2008 at 10:08 am

    No cheating, I promise. I’m staying in the now. Tomorrow is a long way off. Thanks again for the idea! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. SanityFound  |  July 30, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Do you mind if I link you in to mine?

    Reply
  • 6. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  July 30, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Of course not!

    Reply
  • […] last night with a friend RecoveredBulimic.  The One Word a day came up and after she posted her word for the day (took guts and am proud!) it got me to thinking of the above mentioned turning point, what made me switch and what really […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


