Confidence

July 31, 2008 at 9:44 am 2 comments

Yesterday I spent the day with a little piece of paper folded up and stuck in my pocket. The word “able” was written on it. In the evening, I received some forms per email that needed to be filled out for the new job. I hate filling out forms. I generally feel overwhelmed and that I’ll surely do it wrong. Some of you may laugh, but “able” came to mind, and I decided to just go ahead. I attached a note when I sent them back, saying if something was wrong or weird, she could contact me this morning. I haven’t heard from her, so they must be fine.

Late evening my husband came home and came in my room to talk. He said what he wanted to say (including accusations), then turned on his heel and left. That is fairly normal behavior. But the little piece of paper whispered right away (not ten minutes later): “You are able to respond to that!” So I said we’d never be able to talk if he just delivers his speech and leaves. He didn’t come back, but at least I’d said it. Then I stayed up and wrote four pages of what I want to tell him. I will give them to him to read tomorrow. I suggested we sit down and talk tomorrow. (I don’t have time today.)

Before going to bed, I took “able” out of my pocket, but felt like I’d internalized it. This morning I got out of bed, then remembered I needed a word. So I lay down again and reflected. “Confident” jumped into my mind. That’s a good word. I wrote it down and underlined it, then put it in my pocket. I’m going to the recording studio to sing today, and I am confident that I will sing well and that I will have fun.

If anyone read yesterday’s post about “Determination” but hesitated to try it, maybe today’s words will inspire you. I can’t believe how good I feel today!

Never underestimate the power of a word!

Entry filed under: Affirmations. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

I don’t deserve it Some words take longer

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  July 31, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Words can move mountains, determined and able with confidence like a rainbow wows! Hope you have a fab day in the studio!

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 1, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Thank you! It was a wonderful day! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


