Higher Power

August 1, 2008 at 6:52 pm 2 comments

This song has been on my mind lately. Back in the 1980’s I’d made a tape of favorite songs. This song followed Supertramp’s “Dreamer” on my tape — and lately I’ve been listening to Crime of the Century a lot. Every time “Dreamer” is over, I pause and expect to hear this. Talk about conditioning!

Anyway, around that same time is when I found out about Overeaters Anonymous. It was the very early 80s. What a relief it was to discover that I wasn’t alone, and that there was an everchanging group of people that I could join for meetings — to share, get input, and sometimes simply connect. That was when I heard for the first time the concept of Higher Power. I’ve always been spiritual, but not particularly religious. In my humble opinion, there are different religions so each person can find what suits them best. If they need a religion, which I’m not even going to begin to discuss right now.

It’s Friday night and the kids are both out. I’d love to go out dancing, but there’s nothing happening around here. And I’m too old for places where something is happening. Not that that would stop me from going there, but they generally don’t play my kind of music. So I’m reading instead, and for around the 27th time this week, this song popped into my head, so I decided to look it up. Now. And then I decided to share it with the Friday-Night-at-Home community.

Back to Higher Power. I got slightly distracted for a minute there. When I first heard about Higher Power, I took it quite literally to mean anything at all. So, for a while, John Lennon was my higher power. I listened to his music, sang along, and felt like he was a spiritual guide somewhere out there in heaven.

Here’s to you, John, wherever you are! I’m so grateful to you, the Beatles (and all the other inspirational people I never met personally), and all the other wonderful people who have been in my life and/or still are. Rather than in anger, tonight I look back in gratitude.

It’s only Love

I get high when I see you go by
My oh my.
When you sigh, my, my inside just flies,
Butterflies
Why am I so shy when I’m beside you?
It’s only love and that is all,
Why should I feel the way I do?
It’s only love, and that is all,
But it’s so hard loving you.

Is it right that you and I should fight
Ev’ry night?
Just the sight of you makes
nighttime bright,
Very bright.
Haven’t I the right to make it up girl?
It’s only love and that is all,
Why should I feel the way I do?
It’s only love, and that is all
But it’s so hard loving you
Yes it’s so hard loving you — loving you.

Entry filed under: higher power, inspiration, Songs that kept me alive. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Some words take longer Confidence revisited

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  August 2, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Wow *hugs to you* this is beautifuls I love this song!

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 2, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Hugs back! It’s a sweet song, and so light! A nice break from the heaviness that sometimes prevails. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


