A comment that became a post

August 3, 2008 at 7:41 pm 2 comments

With a sheepish grin on my face, I feel like a kid who got caught because she didn’t finish her homework assignment. Njord the Wise gave me a generously long-winded response to “Confidence revisited” which got me thinking. As I was writing about people who inspire me, it did occur to me that their self-confidence was at the base of their success. Just imagine if Patti Smith hadn’t believed in herself?! For myself, I probably would not have survived adolescence if it hadn’t been for her. I’m not kidding.

I was given the advice to forget about the other words and just focus on confidence. It does not happen in just two days. So I will do that. I will focus on confidence, pay attention to body language, speech, carriage and my thoughts as well. And I will carry that piece of paper with me as a tangible reminder when I start to falter. I will reach into my pocket to feel it, breathe deeply and be quiet (if possible) until confidence is restored. It is true. Confidence is the foundation, upon which all the other qualities become quite accessible.

I got a few compliments today, and I just decided I will accept the recognition as honest and not think that people are just saying it to be nice or because they feel sorry for me. They have no reason to lie.

Another thought: I remember my brother told me it would take six months to learn to play the guitar (basic chords at least). That gave me the determination to continue over the early frustrating months. I trusted that I would eventually get it right. I trusted that I just had to practice and not give up. Once I’d tried to learn to play guitar when I was 14, but gave up after two days, because it was too hard. I used the same chord diagrams from a Pete Seeger songbook both times. Need I say more?

The German word for self-confidence is Selbstvertrauen. It literally translates as “Trust in the self”.

There is a great song from Jimmy Cliff that fits here. I used to listen to it a lot while I still had the bulimia. By the way, if you haven’t already guessed, I am truly thankful that such wise people read my blog and share their wisdom in comments. Thank you!

 

You can get it if you really want
You can get it if you really want
You can get it if you really want
But you must try, try and try
Try and try, you’ll succeed at last

Persecution you must bear
Win or lose you’ve got to get your share
Got your mind set on a dream
You can get it, though harder them seem now

You can get it if you really want
You can get it if you really want
You can get it if you really want
But you must try, try and try
Try and try, you’ll succeed at last
I know it, listen

Rome was not built in a day
Opposition will come your way
But the hotter the battle you see
It’s the sweeter the victory, now

You can get it if you really want
You can get it if you really want
You can get it if you really want
But you must try, try and try
Try and try, you’ll succeed at last

You can get it if you really want
You can get it if you really want
You can get it if you really want
But you must try, try and try
Try and try, you’ll succeed at last

You can get it if you really want – I know it
You can get it if you really want – though I show it
You can get it if you really want
– so don’t give up now

Entry filed under: Affirmations, Songs that kept me alive. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Reflections on confident and inspirational What should I cook for lunch today?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  August 7, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Not only beautifully written but also the thoughts so true with an amazing song to boot!

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 7, 2008 at 8:17 am

    Thank you! I’m going to take this as a compliment! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


