Reflections on confident and inspirational

August 3, 2008 at 10:24 am 3 comments

Last night I put “confident” under my pillow and slept quite well. This morning I woke up and felt grateful that a friend had suggested “inspirational” for today. That’s quite a word for my humble being, but I’m accepting the challenge.

Over time, friends have said that I am inspirational to them. For example, another woman in her mid-40s told me that she thinks it is fantastic that I got started with the music so late (I was 35) and made something out of it – with determination, ability and confidence. How about that?! She said I offer encouragement to other women that they can start something new even at the half-way point.

Other friends have time and again found it inspirational that I would take on my destiny and make the best of it – including the nightmare of bulimia. By turning it around and making almost an asset of it, I am reaching out to people, sharing my experience, and hopefully offering them encouragement to make long yearned-for changes in their lives.

When I look to other people who I find inspirational, what they have in common is that they are authentic and following their heart. They are true to themselves. They show me that by simply doing what comes naturally, they fulfill their destiny and also prove that what seem to be incredible obstacles cannot stop them. They are strong, determined and courageous. That for me is inspirational. So today I am inspirational. It feels just a bit funny, but I think I can handle it.

And after these thoughts, “confidence” bowed out for the time being – with a parting flash of insight. I am not one to put the blame on someone else, because only I am responsible for myself in the long run, but what it told me was: “After spending 23 years with someone who constantly undermines your confidence, why do you wonder how hard it is to feel confident?” Taken from a different perspective, confidence also told me that it is amazing that I still have the fragments of it that I do. So I’m going to fertilize those fragments with strong thoughts, let that piece of paper rest next to my bed for a while, and see what happens.

Have a beautiful Sunday! Oh, this sentence reminds me of an old song from Daniel Boone…

Beautiful Sunday

Sunday morning, up with the lark
I think I’ll take a walk in the park
Hey, hey, hey, it’s a beautiful dayI’ve got someone waiting for me
When I see her I know that she’ll say
Hey, hey, hey, it’s a beautiful day

Hi, hi, hi, beautiful Sunday
This is my, my, my, beautiful day
When you say, say, say, say that you love me
Oh, my, my, my it’s a beautiful day
Birds are singing, you by my side
Let’s take a car and go for a ride
Hey, hey, hey, it’s a beautiful day
We’ll drive on and follow the sun
Makin’ Sunday go on and on
Hey, hey, hey, it’s a beautiful day
Hi, hi, hi, beautiful Sunday
This is my, my, my, beautiful day
When you say, say, say, say that you love me
Oh, my, my, my, it’s a beautiful day

Hi, hi, hi, beautiful Sunday
This is my, my, my, beautiful day
When you say, say, say, say that you love me
Oh, my, my, my it’s a beautiful day

Entry filed under: Affirmations. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Confidence revisited A comment that became a post

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  August 3, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    It’s a journey for sure, at times it is scary, at others its fun, at the end of the day we are growing, living, breathing and smiling. I am blessed to have a friend such as you in my life, thank you hun!

    Reply
  • 2. deanjbaker  |  August 3, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    interesting to see this, thanks

    Reply
  • 3. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 3, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    SF: The feeling is quite mutual! 🙂

    DJB: Thank you! And I just took a peek at your blog. I like the poems!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


