The confidence connection

August 7, 2008 at 9:08 am 2 comments

This confidence thing has set off quite a process! Not only am I focusing on it on a daily basis, but the depth and ramifications of the word continue to impress me. For example, a friend of mine was recently in an uncomfortable situation in which she was falsely accused of a minor offense. She told me about it yesterday and said it took her two weeks to respond.

It came to mind that this reaction is related to lack of self-confidence. When I have confidence, then I trust not only in my self and my ability, but also in my perception. Thus if someone verbally attacks me or falsely accuses me of something, when I trust in my perception, I am better able to respond in the moment. If I am insecure, then I blame myself, feel angry and hurt but remain silent, withdraw and think about it for a while. Perhaps I’ll also discuss it with a few girlfriends to see what they think and ask their advice. Then, when I’m sure my perception is correct, I will act on it, if that is still appropriate. Sometimes it’s too late.

When I am confident in myself, I trust my perception, my creativity, my empathy, my energy level, my personality, my intentions, my love – and the list could go on. This trust enables me to feel secure and accept my self exactly as I am.

This all sounds quite simple, but for me it is a major breakthrough.

By the way, I am presently translating my book into German. With my sharpened perception for lack of confidence, I noticed that it was present before I ever met my husband. I guess I chose him to push my buttons.

During a walk with a dear friend yesterday afternoon, I burst out laughing when I realized that I should be grateful for my husband. (I already am, but this is a different reason.) I do believe that we pick our partners to learn something, and I need to learn to stand up for myself and say No. I need to let go of the victim role. So I laughed and said to my friend: “I am grateful because he offers me an unlimited supply of opportunities to learn to be confident and stand up for myself!”

My antennae have been activated and I am ever watchful for anything related to confidence. By the way, it also has to do with acknowledgement of my limits. Sometimes I push myself beyond what I can do, because I otherwise feel inadequate. With confidence, I accept these limits as being legitimate.

Confidence is connected to so much. I’m sure this will not be the last post on confidence. These realizations and connections have brightened my view and I want to share the brightness with you!

Entry filed under: Affirmations. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

What should I cook for lunch today? What’s a miracle?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Njord  |  August 7, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Set yourself on the path to enlightenment, and you decide to jog down the course. Njord is really surprised and extremely proud that you have learned so much in such little time. Njord couldn’t add anything to this post, even if he wanted to.

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 7, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    I think Njord spoke at the right time and doesn’t even need to add to this post. He can simply sit back and be proud of himself for helping others and trust that his intuition leads him well. And he will probably move on and see who else needs a figurative kick in the butt. Thank you very much. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


