Sunday’s Goddesses

August 10, 2008 at 10:43 am 9 comments

Lately I’ve taken a break from consulting the Goddess Cards. For quite a while, every time I picked a card, they either told me to go out and get some fresh air, to do my art/music, or that I am strong and independent, and everything will turn out for the best. After I’d heard that several times in a row, I decided it was time for a break. I mean, if you get the same advice over and over, maybe it’s time to follow it instead of repeating the question.

During the past weeks I have been out more. I went to the Buddhist monastery again, to the rock circles on the mountain (our mini-version of Stonehenge), and to the lake. I have also taken more time to be with good friends. That has helped.

On this bright sunny Sunday morning, I saw the cards on the bedside table and they seemed to beckon. So I figured, what the heck? Why not see if they say something different today? Obviously they did, otherwise I probably wouldn’t have written.

I picked Isolde and Irene. Isolde says: “For affairs of the heart, there is help all around you, as well as within you. Your inner wisdom might have been silenced by the pain, but trust that your healing will be effective and fast, and that you will truly heal from the inside out.

First your heart must be healed from all worry, loneliness and feelings of betrayal. Be patient, it may take some time. Be as gentle and considerate with yourself as you would be with anyone else who is suffering. And then, go out into the world. (I knew this was coming!) Not into the raw everyday world, but into the world of forests, parks, and other such places. They will help you view the world in a friendlier way. Nature is a great healer. That’s why I like to be among the trees and flowers. They appear still, but if you open yourself to them, you will soon discover that they are quite communicative. Spend time in forests, under trees, with flowers and animals, and soon you will return to the living. I promise you that your heart will heal and that you will in this way also be of help to others.”

Various affirmations from Isolde are: “No matter how things appear on the outside, your partner’s love is eternal. – You are presently in the process of ending and healing from a relationship. – You are healing from some other type of loss. – Let go of an old relationship to make space for a new one. – The love that you spread into the world is an essential part of your godly calling. – Loved ones who have died are well and send their love.”

Irene says: “Even if things seem to be chaotic, I assure you there is a larger plan in effect. The ever-loving power supports you fully. Relax in the arms of godly love and let go of cares and fears as you breathe out. Concentrate on happily recognizing every blessing that you receive. Your gratitude will bring more blessings into your life.”

Various affirmations from Irene are: “Leave your cares and fears to the sky. – Pray – Meditate – Do whatever strengthens your inner peace, i.e. yoga, sea salt baths, massage, quiet pauses, music, playfulness and such things.”

Today’s cards are assuring me that I am on the right path. I feel that healing. Lately I’ve truly had the sensation of coming back to life, walking again among the living. Through the process, I have found my way back to my daughter as well. That alone is enough of a blessing, but there is much more. Life seems worth living. I no longer feel trapped. I can make decisions, take steps, and be aware of what is going on. People appreciate and like me. I am not a victim. Life is incredible and I am grateful.

I just wanted to share this because, as usual, it might be helpful to someone else as well. Have a beautiful day!

Entry filed under: goddess cards, inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

What’s a miracle? Quick miracle update

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fromtheadagio  |  August 10, 2008 at 11:07 am

    I am always enchanted by those who can remedy themselves by the end of their blog. Like your Isolde and Irene, Tolstoy says that every happy family is happy in the same way, while all unhappy families are unhappy in their own way. The unhappy famillies are left to the cards. And we hope to solve our family in a single turn of the right-side-up character. But he appears to be turned dowards and our family and love moves towards death. This is when we must interject and handle the card ourselves. But I still believe in simple fates and Tolstoy. I’ll leave the cards alone and hope that when I turn them they forgive me, as they seem to have forgiven you.

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 10, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    It would be easy if it were just a turn of the cards to solve things. I see the turn of cards as a turn in tide, ready for more change. Change is a slow process, made up of countless tiny steps. Then it all comes together and appears to be sudden. I believe in hope, forgiveness and fate. Our family and love move towards death no matter what. I confess I haven’t read Tolstoy, so I really can’t get into a discussion. I’ve had War and Peace on my bookshelf for several years now. Maybe this is a wink? Do you recommend it? In any case, I do feel forgiven. And I have the strong feeling that the universe is just waiting for me to get it together, as the steps I take bear fruit.

    Reply
  • 3. fromtheadagio  |  August 12, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Vladimir Nabokov (Lolita) believes Tolstoy may be the greatest writer in history, but I’ve seen plenty of folks turn out much better than I have, while never reading him. So, whatever you choose. I agree with the slow steps of change. I somewhat drive myself mad trying to transcend the future. I try to accomplish it now, so I no longer have to allow its interference in the present. But that itself is the source of the madness. Maybe its time I let the cards do some work.

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    It’s one step at a time — sometimes slow, sometimes fast. You don’t need to compare yourself to others. We are each unique and turn out the way we should, regardless of what we read. I hesitate to accept “the greatest writer”. I believe, just as we have different religions to suit different needs, the various writers give different things to different people. (But of course, the classic writers definitely have their place of greatness, anyway. Otherwise they would not have prevailed.) Past, present and future is supposedly one. Stay in the now, be aware, do your best, but also go easy on yourself. Trust your self and your ability. What work of Tolstoy would you recommend to read first?

    Reply
  • 5. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    F: Another thought on your first comment and mention of forgiveness. Perhaps the cards and/or the universe have forgiven me. But I sense quite strongly that in recent weeks I have forgiven myself. That is extremely powerful. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Njord  |  August 13, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Njord needs some cards.
    What purpose do they serve?

    Reply
  • 7. fromtheadagio  |  August 13, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Although I feel great passion for Tolstoy, I hate imposing my reading on others. I could say that those who have read Anna Karenina have found few other books that compete. It nears 800 pages (about half of War and Peace) but when you reach the end you will feel enlarged. I know I need to utilize the present, but looking at our comments combined, it becomes clearer that my projects for the future may be disguising my lack of forgiveness for myself. Nietzsche says that those with troubled sleep have not lived a ‘full day’ since pieces of their afternoon have not been reconciled. This seems terribly true, and I’m sure many sleepless people are blushing to know that it is so. One must certainly learn to sleep well.

    Reply
  • 8. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  August 14, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    N: If you need forgiveness, that you have to find within you. The cards are simply a source of encouragement, a reminder to keep things positive. I generally am not a fan of the commercialized esoteric/new age movement, but a friend gave me the cards and they are kind of nice. And somehow I always manage to pick the card or cards with exactly the message I need to hear that day.
    Recently I was at a book store and looked at the section where they have the various cards — there is definitely something for everyone: goddesses, fairies, angels, animals, special angels, … Like everything else, it’s a big business, but if it helps people, then I find it a good thing.

    F: I don’t consider you to be imposing your reading. It’s nice to make suggestions and recommendations. I’ve done that as well. And then people decide for themselves what they want to read. So, is Anna Karenina your veiled recommendation?
    It sounds like you are awfully hard on yourself, though I know exactly where you are coming from about feeling that you haven’t lived a full day. A wise friend of mine recently suggested that I let go of the “I have to…” in my mind and replace it with “I am doing…” now. It has taken me years to realize that I can never accomplish all I would like to in one day. Some days I just set out into the day and flow from one thing to the next – to see what I can accomplish in, say, 2 hours. It gives me a better sense of how long things actually take.
    It just occurred to me – for a day to remember, read my post on the fairytale of hope from May 13th (I just checked). That was definitely one fully lived day.
    Oh, but you’re talking about things not reconciled. That’s a hard one. I’m dealing with it at the moment as well, and it is hard to sleep. But even there, it’s one step at a time. When I manage to reconcile a little, I do sleep better.

    Reply
  • 9. SanityFound  |  August 14, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    I love what it says and what it really means *hugs* to you – am so excited about monday whoohoo!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


