Physically, I’ve landed

September 5, 2008 at 5:34 pm 3 comments

Hi everybody! I’m back. The plane landed late this morning and I was delighted to see that my husband had woken the kids up and had them drive with him to pick me up from the airport. I’ve decided to start at the end and work my way backwards. There are various stories and subjects that came to mind on the flight last night, but it’s one thing at a time.

I can’t say I am thrilled about coming back. It was wonderful to be home. My mother rode the subway with me to the airport, which I really appreciated. She really has been a constant source of love and support all these years. It’s just too bad she also manages to drive me crazy. We had a quick goodbye, since I requested it to be short and sweet. As she was hugging me, she thought: “You’re one tough cookie.” She told me that and laughed, explaining that a few weeks earlier she had written: “My daughter is a very sensitive person.” I smiled at her and said: “I’m both,” and gave her a big hug.

Once in the airport, I checked in, dropped off my suitcase and went to the bar. Usually I only drink plain water, but I was exhausted and wanted to make sure that I drift off easily on the plane. I sat down, ordered a margarita, and picked out one of my new books to read with the appropriate title: A Night of Serious Drinking. Although it was tempting, I decided to leave it at one drink and finish going through security. Although, the thought of being so drunk that they wouldn’t let me board did serve as a slight temptation.

Anyway, once on the plane I relaxed, had dinner, watched a movie, and dozed off for a few hours. That’s why I’m still quite awake now at 7.20 pm this evening. It’s a first!

It just occurred to me that I’m getting tired. Perhaps all the travelling and excitement is getting to me after all. I think I’ll finish putting my stuff away and get ready to call it a day. One thing I want to say before signing off is that I missed blogging and the interaction while I was away. So I just wanted to connect. Physically, I have landed. Emotionally, I’m still back in the States. It will take some time to adjust.

Entry filed under: Visiting home/travelling. Tags: , , , , , .

On Vacation Just go ahead and do it!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Awws welcome backs I did miss you LOTS *hugs* think you will be back there before you know it… just hang in theres *grins*

    Reply
  • 2. SanityFound  |  September 5, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    PS Did I tell you that I missed you?

    Reply
  • 3. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  September 6, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Oh, thank you! I hope you’re right. I missed you, too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


