Tears and things

September 10, 2008 at 5:22 am 3 comments

Sad stories and tears are part of life. Sometimes we try too hard to be brave and not cry, zapping ourselves of energy. Why not cry for two or three minutes and move on? Have you ever timed your tears? I haven’t, but lately I’ve cried enough to realize they don’t last long.

Just like lack of confidence and fear of authority can jolt us out of the now when dealing with people, so can fighting back the tears. Just recently I did that, holding them back until I was alone, because I had to say goodbye for now to someone I love dearly. (Oh, the joy of being home and the anguish of leaving!) I was so busy not crying that I really screwed up the farewell scene, and that is what is left in my memory.

Of course, this is not earth shattering, nor will I suffer for the rest of my life. I mean, let’s be real here. But it’s just one more little thing that costs energy and shoves me off center, away from now. And the older I get, the less energy I have to waste. The more economic I want to be.

I hope that if I write about this, next time I’ll do it. Because the funny thing is, just the night before I had spoken about it with someone, but it didn’t help. So next time those tears come up (unless you’re with your boss or somebody like that and it is totally inappropriate), let them be. It won’t last long. Then blow your nose, smile, and keep going. Like everything else, that too shall pass.

Entry filed under: Crying. Tags: , , , , , .

I am a survivor How things can change in just a few hours

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SanityFound  |  September 16, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    *hugs*

    Reply
  • 2. insana  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Goodbyes are only “see ya laters” in disguise. No more crying, remember and smile.

    Reply
  • 3. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  September 17, 2008 at 9:12 am

    S: Thank you my dear friend! Sending you hugs back! 🙂

    I: I suppose you’re right. I am smiling today and do have a whole treasure chest of happy memories. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


