It’s my party!

September 18, 2008 at 4:44 am 7 comments

And I’ll cry if I want to. But not today! Why? Because today is my birthday and I am as happy as a kid can be! I’ve always loved celebrating my birthday. Perhaps because my mother always made a big deal of it. Today I got to thinking about her. Sure, I’ve complained about her and often thought she could have done better, but when I think about what she gave me, it blows me away. I had a lot of freedom. She loves me and has always believed in me. Our house was always an open house. I was free to invite friends over, have parties, and simply be in my room. It really was my home. That became even more clear to me after a disagreement with my husband regarding our daughter’s upcoming 16th birthday. He would prefer that she not have a party here. He is concerned that his beautiful house might get damaged. I never had to think about that.

But back to my birthday, since it’s not my daughter’s turn until next month. I have to work today, so I won’t be actively celebrating. I baked a cake and will take it to work with me this morning. It is my way of thanking my colleagues for their help and support thus far. Early evening I’m on duty for a few more hours, but that’s it. I’m off for the night. A close friend or two might stop by, but no big deal.

Since it’s my birthday, I can do whatever I want. (As long as I don’t get into trouble!) So I’m going to share a song that changed my life. Back then, I was 16 years old. Not just this one song changed my life, but it’s how I found my heroine. It was her first and only hit record, a song she co-wrote with Bruce Springsteen. Thank God she had this hit! Otherwise, I never would have heard about her out there in the boondocks! This is a more recent version, but at the bottom I’ve included the original version.

Since I have no idea how long I’ll be around, or how long it will take me to finish all my projects, let me just enjoy today. I am happy to be alive. Happy to know so many wonderful people. Happy to know true love. Grateful for my family and relatives. Happy to have two wonderful, healthy children, whom I love dearly and who manage to drive me crazy at times, just to keep me on my toes. Happy to have two cats to cuddle. And I have dreams for the future. I’m not finished yet.

Because the Night

take me now baby here as I am
pull me close, try and understand
desire is hunger is the fire I breathe
love is a banquet on which we feed

come on now try and understand
the way I feel when I’m in your hands
take my hand come undercover
they can’t hurt you now,
can’t hurt you now, can’t hurt you now
because the night belongs to lovers
because the night belongs to lust
because the night belongs to lovers
because the night belongs to us

have I doubt when I’m alone
love is a ring, the telephone
love is an angel disguised as lust
here in our bed until the morning comes
come on now try and understand
the way I feel under your command
take my hand as the sun descends
they can’t touch you now,
can’t touch you now, can’t touch you now
because the night belongs to lovers …

with love we sleep
with doubt the vicious circle
turn and burns
without you I cannot live
forgive, the yearning burning
I believe it’s time, too real to feel
so touch me now, touch me now, touch me now
because the night belongs to lovers …

because tonight there are two lovers
if we believe in the night we trust
because tonight there are two lovers …

Entry filed under: childhood memories, mothers and daughters, My birthday. Tags: , , , , , , .

Humility Piece of cake anyone?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lola Snow  |  September 18, 2008 at 6:12 am

    What a beautiful post! I hope you have a fantastic birthday, make sure you do! I am raising a big cup of tea and toasting to you (Minus the toast but with an apple instead!)
    Happy Birthday
    Lola x

    Reply
  • 2. Hippy Happy Birthday Martha M « SanityFound’s Rambling’s  |  September 18, 2008 at 7:12 am

    […] Hippy Happy Birthday Martha M September 18, 2008 Some of you might not know MarthaM over at Diary of a recovered bulimic but she has forever more crept into my heart… what is better is the fact that she is turning […]

    Reply
  • 3. SanityFound  |  September 18, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Hippy Happy Birthday my friend!!! Thank you for coming into my life, for being who you are, who you are to me and who you are to the world!!!

    Hope you have one of the best days ever!!! This is that turning point, right here, right now!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  September 18, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Awww, thank you girls!! The sun is shining, what more could I want? 😀

    Reply
  • 5. bojinx  |  September 19, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Happy birthday 🙂 and cheers to moms and kitty’s! (i don’t have kids… yet… so i can’t cheers to them ;))

    Reply
  • 6. Njord  |  September 22, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Sorry I’m late! XD
    Happy Belated!
    WOOOOOO, NJORD IS HERE!
    PARTY TIME!!!

    Reply
  • 7. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  September 22, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Thanks! I got so many good wishes that I’ve extended the party throughout the week, so you’re not too late after all. One day is simply not enough! Tanking up for a good year. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


