When enough is enough

October 9, 2008 at 2:48 pm 4 comments

Good grief! I go out and get a job, and all of a sudden I don’t have much time to write. Over here, they don’t just say you work part-time or full-time. They go by percent. 100% is 40 hours a week, 50% is 20 hours a week, 80% is 32 hours a week, etc. My present position is 80%, but they goofed up while preparing my work contract and wrote 70%. That was in the process of being changed.

Then my boss told me I need to put in more hours, because the hours she had assigned me weren’t enough. I started to worry. I calculated the hours. I looked at how many I had to make up from the previous month — 30. The monthly paycheck is the same, it’s just up to me to get the hours right. I looked at the paycheck, I calculated how much more I would make once they corrected it to 80%. I calculated how many more hours that would require. I reflected upon the fact that my 14-year-old son started a new school this year and often doesn’t get home until after 4 pm, which is when I usually go on duty. And when I come home at night, if I see him, then only to scold him that he should be in bed. And I thought about whether or not it is worth less than $200 more a month to see my son maybe 10 days a month, run myself ragged and be stressed out.

I emailed my boss and apologized for the inconvenience, and said that I’d like to be assigned to 28 hours a week. If all the numbers and percentages have confused you, I have good news. Skip it! Forget it! All I’m basically saying is: For once in my life I looked at the situation, decided it would be too much (even though I know I could SURVIVE it), and opted for a sane solution. Sometimes more isn’t the answer. Or it is. It just depends on what you’re talking about. More consideration for my limits and energy is good. Running myself ragged for more money is not good.

True, I am in a position right now where I’m not desperate for that extra money. Of course, my situation could change tomorrow. But for today, I seek the best possible solution. And today it works.

Today I don’t need to prove that I can push beyond my limits and be superwoman. I know I can do that. In fact, I’ve done it. It is harmful to my health. Today I am listening to my heart. If you ask me, I think the universe botched up the contract on purpose and put in 70% right from the start — just to get me thinking, and demonstrate that the contract could be corrected if there were any mistakes. Thank you, stars and higher power!

Entry filed under: going back to work, Learning to say NO. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Glad to still be alive The ongoing adventures of mother and daughter

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lola Snow  |  October 9, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Hoorah! Good for you. Burning yourself out is not the way to live. Work to live not live to work. Time spent with your son is precious time, and time spent doing things which are good for your wellbeing is vital. Glad to hear the universe poked you in the right direction!
    x

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  October 9, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Good old universe just keeps giving me a kick in the butt when I need one! Hope it treats you as well as it treats me! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Samantha  |  October 10, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    If it were easy it wouldn’t be worth it. And it’d be a whole lot more BORING! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  October 11, 2008 at 6:43 am

    True. My greatest accomplishments (and the ones that really stand out in my mind) are associated with much struggle and hard work. They were truly earned. Why does this remind me of The Little Prince and his flower? Such a vague memory. I think I’ll read that book next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


