No big deal

October 12, 2008 at 3:09 pm Leave a comment

Well, my hair had grown an inch or so and one of my younger clients said my head looked like a mop. One delightful thing about my clients is their close observation and honesty. They tell it like it is. I’d wanted to get my hair cut again, and his words gave me that extra motivation I’d been looking for the past few days.

That was last week. Today it occurred to me that it’s not a big deal anymore. Finally, after half a lifetime I can go get my haircut and when I look in the mirror and she asks me if it’s okay, I look to see how I want it and not “what I can get away with”. What a different experience! I know what I want! And I find it amusing to discover how quickly it has become something I take for granted. When I think of all the years I wanted to cut my hair, but was afraid (knew) my husband wouldn’t approve… Insane!

Congratulations to all of you who can already do that! But for those of you who can’t, I’ll let you in on my little secret. You just have to do it a few times, and each time you’ll get better at it. It’s like most things in life. Just do it. Learning by doing. Assume that it’s your head and nobody else’s business, what you do with your hair. What a freeing experience!

By the way, it’s even a bit shorter than last time. The fun part is, my friends are lavishing compliments and like it much better than when it was long. I wonder if that has something to do with them liking the real me, and short hair is me right now.

Entry filed under: Haircuts and Change. Tags: , , , .

The ongoing adventures of mother and daughter A strange thing happened

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


