Autumnal Agony?

October 22, 2008 at 8:17 am Leave a comment

The fall colors are spectacular — both here and in the Hudson Valley, where I grew up. But the cold, foggy days of fall are here as well. Both images suit my mood swings, which are enhanced by the events in the world around me and far away.

This morning I received the October issue of “The Queen’s Chronicles” by Donna Henes (www.donnahenes.net), an urban shaman whom I had the privilege to meet this past summer. And the lead article gave me a real boost. She reminds us of the power of our thoughts, the power of positive thinking, and encourages us to do what we can in our immediate environment. No individual can take on the world, but we can do a world of good in the neighborhood.

The journey of life offers some interesting twists and turns along the way, and we meet the most fascinating people, who can enrich our lives, encourage us, and expand our perception in helpful ways.

What I read this morning reminded me of how important it is to treat everyone with respect, and to reach out to everyone — not just the selected few whom we deem to be on our wavelength. (Yes, I tend to be guilty of that. Quite arrogant, if you ask me!) When I have been open and communicative, there have been wonderfully uplifting exchanges with sales clerks, auto mechanics, dental technicians.

Today I will keep my eyes open and be aware. We are all here together on this planet. Everyone and every encounter is a matter of consequence, as the Little Prince would say. After a few decades, I took that book off the shelf and find it just as delightful as I did back then. The past few days I have been pondering my own perceived matters of consequence, and settling these into a better perspective as well.

So, rather than slipping into an autumnal depression due to events and sensations both inside and out, I will focus on the positive aspects and reach out a bit further to promote peace and understanding.

Entry filed under: inspiration, mama donna. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Side effects of working Bulimia, smoking and drinking

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


