My hero

December 16, 2008 at 5:10 pm Leave a comment

It’s funny, because I never really thought about it. I love Patti Smith. I love my German punks (Die Toten Hosen). But the other day I was listening to Elvis Presley, and I realized he’s the one I got my style of singing from. He sure was incredible. I remember when he died, I thought to myself: “Well, he lived a long life. He was 42.” Ha! Now I’m 46, it doesn’t seem like he lived so long anymore. But for a 15-year-old, 42 is nearly ancient. Back then I used to love to sing along with him. I still do.
So here’s to Elvis and love.

The wonder of you

When no one else can understand me
When everything I do is wrong
You give me hope and consolation
You give me strength to carry on

And you’re always there to lend a hand
In everything I do
That’s the wonder
The wonder of you

And when you smile the world is brighter
You touch my hand and I’m a king
Your kiss to me is worth a fortune
Your love for me is everything

I guess I’ll never know the reason why
You love me like you do
That’s the wonder
The wonder of you

Entry filed under: music. Tags: , , .

Please stop! It began quite harmlessly

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


