Telling it like it is

December 21, 2008 at 11:14 am Leave a comment

What fun it is to roam around youtube on a rainy Sunday morning. I happened upon this jewel. I always loved this song, and this live version is incredible. Too bad I didn’t take her word for it back then, but that’s how life is. I had to figure it out for myself the hard way, even though I knew what was right all along.

You don’t own me (Leslie Gore)

You don’t own me
I’m not just one of your many toys
You don’t own me
Don’t say I can’t go with other boys

And don’t tell me what to do
And don’t tell me what to say
And, please, when I go out with you
Don’t put me on display

cause, you don’t own me
Don’t try to change me in any way
You don’t own me
Don’t tie me down
I will never stay

I don’t tell you what to say
I don’t tell you what to do
So, just let me be myself
That’s all I ask of you

I’m young and I love to be young
I’m free and I love to be free
To live my life the way I want
To say and do whatever I please

You don’t own me.

Entry filed under: Songs that kept me alive. Tags: , , , .

Forwarded blessings for winter solstice Losing a friend

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


