Seek and you will find

January 21, 2009 at 1:32 pm 2 comments

… what you need, even if you were looking for something else. How many times has that happened? I’m looking for one thing and find another. Perhaps I’d looked for it previously, or perhaps even completely forgot about it — which was the case yesterday.

I found a little book on my bookshelf while looking for copyable overhead pages. It was a book I bought several months ago and indeed forgot about. It’s called Ending the day with the Dalai Lama. I only read part of the introduction, but that was enough. When asked what one needs to be happy, the Dalai Lama said: “Good health, good food, good digestion — and good sleep.”

I kept reading to see if I could find out how to get some good sleep. Just two pages later, I came across some simple advice. “Why worry about it, if it’s a problem that can be solved? And why worry if there’s nothing to do but accept it?” A good night’s sleep can give us the necessary distance to look at a situation more clearly. The author of the introduction surmised it with the following prayer:

“God, grant me the serenity, to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”

I have read this prayer countless times, as I heard it before I went into the “rooms” (12-step-programs), as well as while I was in them. It is a wonderful prayer. Last night as I lay in bed, I used it as a meditation to fall asleep. It took quite a while just to take in the first line: “God, grant me the serenity, to accept the things I cannot change.” Just focussing on that for quite some time, I felt myself emotionally and physically letting go. Some things simply are as they are and cannot be changed. Whew! What a relief! It’s quite a burden to expect myself to change what cannot be changed, or to punish myself because of it.

“God, grant me the courage to change the things I can.” I kept repeating “grant me the courage” and eventually fell into a deep sleep. I slept straight through, which I haven’t done for quite some time. That is partially to blame on the cat who wants to go outside at 3 or 4 am, but even without him I’ve been restless. I woke up feeling tired, but maybe because I had to get up earlier than usual to go to work.

During the course of the morning, I noticed an inner calmness. Today I had 3 hours of routine work, followed by 4 hours of new stuff. I took it step by step, and it worked out. A few questions were asked when necessary, but otherwise I just went along and did my best. It turned out well and I came home feeling satisfied with the results.

Tonight I’ll do it again and see if I get any further. The wisdom part could come in quite handy! Yet I am not concerned about meditating through the whole thing. I’ll just let go, repeat it, and enjoy the much-needed, restful sleep. Go ahead and try it! Amazing things can happen when you close your eyes, let go, and repeat it again and again — taking in one word at a time.

Entry filed under: Affirmations. Tags: , , , , , , , .

You win some… A handful of beans

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lola Snow  |  January 21, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Serenity. Even the word is soothing. Once we find out how to feel it, and not induce it through a bottle of wine, or a binge, it is the most amazing feeling. Recently I’ve learnt to just stop, and centre myself, and it is so beautiful and calm.

    Lola x

    Reply
  • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  January 22, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Serenity, serendipity… may the waves of the syllables splash over you and refresh you, washing away your worries and fears, leaving you centered, calm and peaceful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


