A person just like me

February 2, 2009 at 9:16 am Leave a comment

Page by page I’m contemplating this little book of reflections by His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Again I found a real winner. He says that by focussing only on ourselves, we close the inner door to our hearts. As a result, we lose the ability to communicate with others. When we lose this ability, we feel insecure and threatened, frustrated and lonely. Thus, he says, compassion is the key to a fear-free life with our fellow inhabitants.

He goes on to describe his own humble experience and what he learned in situations of conflict. It helps to look our counterpart in the face and remind ourselves that he, too, is a person just like us. He is a human being who strives for happiness and seeks to reduce his suffering — just like me!

I found these words extremely helpful and began to perceive certain individuals in a whole new light. It has helped me to better deal in difficult situations. I remind myself: “(S)He’s not out to get me, (s)he just wants to be happy. (S)He’s just another human bean — like me.” Just through that process, something changes. When I can say that with true compassion, the Dalai Lama says that this starts the process of breaking down the barriers and the door to my heart begins to open. The restlessness und dissatisfaction of my spirit begin to melt. This gives me inner strength and self-confidence. And, where there is inner strength and self-confidence, then mistrust, fear and doubt disappear.

It is a slow process, but it is a process. It is happening step by step. I am grateful for the Dalai Lama and his wise words, and thought you might find comfort in them as well.

Entry filed under: Help and Strength, inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Out on the town and acting as if Filling in the gaps

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


