What are my goals?

February 16, 2009 at 1:24 pm Leave a comment

Oh my goodness gracious! Is this me writing about goals? The same me who just lives for today and several years ago only had the goal to recover? Yes. It’s me.

In a rather roundabout way, today I have discovered something very important. (I discovered it for me. I’m sure other people already know about it. But just in case anybody else hasn’t figured it out yet, I’ll share my insight. For what it’s worth.) I discovered that I need ambition and goals.

Up until quite recently (last week!), my goals were not all that clear. It was a wishy-washy affair, sort of based on what I don’t want. Through the focus on goals during last weekend’s seminar, I started thinking about my own goals. Day by day, they became clearer. I just asked myself: What do I want? And after a few days of reflection, now I actually know what I want!!!

Just a few minutes ago, I was laughing at myself. Once again I make a brilliant, earth-shattering discovery of something that lots of other people have known about for a long time. But that doesn’t make it any less special. It just humbles me, as I am once again reminded that I’m a simple human being who progresses at her own speed.

In the middle of that laughter, another thought occurred: the bulimia! Why did I get over it back then? For years and years my goal had been to stop bingeing and puking, but it didn’t work. When did it work? When I formed a positive goal of what I wanted! It was about what I wanted, not about what I didn’t want. I wanted to be healthy. I wanted to eat normally. I wanted to eat whatever I wanted and be slim. I wanted to do well at school. I wanted a job. I wanted to study Psychology. I wanted children.

All of those wants have been fulfilled. I stopped bingeing when I changed the wording from: “I don’t want to binge anymore” to “I want to eat normally.” They say the universe doesn’t understand negation. It is positively oriented. Thus, “I don’t want to binge” was actually “I want to binge”. I was focussing on that activity.

So, here’s crazy, hippie, non-materialistic me saying: “All you need is a goal!” (But I do still believe that “All you need is love” is also quite appropriate!) I always thought goals and ambition were superficial, flaky and substitutes for something better in life. I changed my mind. It’s not about whether or not I have goals, it’s the content that matters.

In a rather exuberant mood, I wish you all that you analyze your goals and word them well. Think positively! Dare to say what you want! You don’t have to tell anybody if you don’t want to. It’s enough that you can admit them to yourself. I don’t dare tell you all of my goals, or you just might think I’m nuts! But that’s okay. I just might be.

In memory of John, who was my higher power for a while.

Love, love, love.
Love, love, love.
Love, love, love.

There’s nothing you can do that can’t be done.
Nothing you can sing that can’t be sung.
Nothing you can say but you can learn how to play the game.
It’s easy.

Nothing you can make that can’t be made.
No one you can save that can’t be saved.
Nothing you can do but you can learn how to be you in time.
It’s easy.

All you need is love.
All you need is love.
All you need is love, love.
Love is all you need.

All you need is love.
All you need is love.
All you need is love, love.
Love is all you need.

Nothing you can know that isn’t known.
Nothing you can see that isn’t shown.
Nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be.
It’s easy.

All you need is love.
All you need is love.
All you need is love, love.
Love is all you need.

All you need is love (all together, now!)
All you need is love. (everybody!)
All you need is love, love.
Love is all you need (love is all you need).

Yee-hai!
Oh yeah!
She loves you, yeah yeah yeah.
She loves you, yeah yeah yeah.

Entry filed under: Affirmations, changing my behavior. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Valentine’s Day Say “No” for a happy ending

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


