Learning to talk

March 30, 2009 at 10:54 am Leave a comment

This past weekend I participated in the next communication seminar. (The first one was last month.) It is truly a fascinating experience and I’m learning a lot. This time I even confronted the person who annoyed me last time — simply told her how I felt about a certain issue, without being defensive or aggressive. Turns out, she was surprised and had no idea. Later she thanked me for bringing it up. I don’t feel like going into details this morning. Still feel slightly overwhelmed from the intense and sometimes stormy waves of insight. I wrote a poem this morning, so I’ll share that instead.

Learning to talk

Learning to talk, I’ve done it twice.
Once to be honest, once to be nice.
Now I can feel where I’m at, where you are
Now it is real, whether near or so far.
The touch of a finger, the look in your eyes
A mutual exchange and we realize.
The warmth from your hand shields the light in my heart
We connect and protect and we each know our part.
To put into words, I must understand
What is it that I feel, want, need and demand.
To hear what you say, I need more than two ears,
But a heart, eyes and mind to discern hopes and fears.

The skies of your mind, they are open to me,
the sun’s light of your thoughts, it shines on me
I am I, you are you, and together we’re we,
We feel, listen and question, and then we can see.

Is it one picture, or a variation of two
As long as we meet and agree on what’s true
That reality suffices and settles the deal
We examine, discover and begin to heal.
Take time to reflect, let clear the murky waters
All the particles of fear experience taught us.

Open your mind to confidence and courage
The bouts of fate will cease to discourage
You become part of the process, taking steps one by one,
You stay in motion, as each task is done.

The skies of your mind, they are open to me,
the sun’s light of your thoughts, it shines on me
I am I, you are you, and together we’re we,
We feel, listen and question, and then we can see.

Entry filed under: going back to school, Poetry. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Crisis anyone? I want it all! So much to do in one life time…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


