Ugly aspects

April 23, 2009 at 1:36 pm Leave a comment

Change itself is beautiful, I believe. But there are some accompanying aspects I had hoped to avoid: neighbors and gossip. Although I told my news about the upcoming time-out from my marriage to the blogworld, I kept it rather private on the local level. But my daughter told her cousin and her cousin told her mother. Her mother happens to be the modern version of the town crier.

Yesterday she broke the news to the other sisters-in-law during coffee and cake. One of them happens to be a close friend of mine (and coincidentally also a sister-in-law) and I had already told her. She told me later how it went. The gossipy one told the news, put me down and just couldn’t understand how I could be so crazy as to leave. The other two don’t understand it either. Just my friend does, since she really knows me. (I have four sisters-in-law!)

So they puzzled how I could possibly want to leave this golden cage. They were insulted that neither of us had said anything to them. It didn’t occur to them that our private matters are none of their business, nor that we would have told them when the timing is right for us.

I felt angry and was tempted to go over and tell her that it’s none of her business. (She lives next door. Another reason I look forward to moving!) I think I’ll let it go, but I’m still considering it. I would like to tell her that, and tell her that the reason her brother didn’t say anything to her is because he doesn’t want the whole town talking about it just yet. (Of course they will eventually.) She may not think much of me, but she could at least respect his wishes.

Oh, well. Word had to get out at some point. On the bright side: at least now we don’t have to worry about when to break the news. It’s best to go on my way and not give her so much thought energy. Grrrrr! Even better would be to pray for her. What a sad existence indeed, to be so nosy about other people’s affairs and to be known as the town gossip.

This is just part of the learning experience. It is an opportunity to remind myself that I don’t care what other people say about me — unless they are important in my life and I respect their opinion. But deep down, it hurts anyway when people are so thoughtless. Oh, well. That’s life.

Entry filed under: Family/Relationships, On my own. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Home is Waiting for life to start

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


