Weekend worries

June 17, 2009 at 7:58 am Leave a comment

This is what I wrote on a piece of paper last Wednesday, when I still had no internet:

I’m a little concerned. My daughter is on the waiting list for a school, my father will have open heart surgery today or tomorrow, my son broke 2 fingers playing basketball, I have a 5-day seminar and my husband is away for these 5 days, and I feel slightly overwhelmed.

The seminar is only 15 minutes away, so I’m spending the nights in my apartment. That gives me the chance to at least check in with the kids and make sure all is well. (Yes, I confess, they find it cool to be on their own!)

I got home from the seminar, poured a glass of wine, and sat back and watched the cats for a while. Nicky, the “house cat” has been here for 2 weeks now. Three days ago, I brought his brother Babsi here. Babsi is an outdoor cat. Originally, although it nearly broke my heart, I thought I would leave the cats at the house – in their trusted environment. Then, to my surprise, my husband said I should take them with me. He never wanted cats from the start. I was delighted to take Nicky, but hesitated with Babsi – until I was at the house and saw how restricted his life had become. He was only allowed to go into the kitchen to eat, then had to go back outside again. True, he’s an outdoor cat, but he has no objections to a soft couch after a hard night out. So I decided he could live here – it’s not his accustomed hunting ground, but he’d have more love.

I was watching the cats, and contemplating their (nonverbal) adjustment process. They don’t totally understand it, but their humans are here, as well as some familiar pieces of furniture. So they rhyme it together as best they can. I watch as they peek through the gap in the balcony railing to watch the activity on the street below.

But that’s not really what I wanted to write about. It was just an important digression. As I sat here, I felt a bit overwhelmed, and decided a goddess card could be helpful. Who did I happen to pick? Artemis: “You and your loved ones are safe and spiritually well protected.” Ah! Sigh of relief! Artemis says: “Just like me, you have the sacred duty to spread light and love. If you are tense or worried, that is not possible. The gentle essence of your happy heart and hearty laugh will enhance your strength. Why should you be tense – unless you believe you are not protected? But how could you be in danger, when you’ve asked the spiritual warriors for protection? Your prayers have activated perfect protection of the heavens over you. So don’t worry any more. Instead, concentrate on your sacred task.”

Additional meanings: “The angels are watching over you and your loved ones. The future is certain and protected. All of your needs will be fulfilled – always. The worst is behind you.”

Listening to Neil Young’s “After the Gold Rush” and I know: Daddy will be okay, my children will be okay, my cats will be okay, and I will be okay. With this consolation, I’m ready to go to bed! Tomorrow is a new day – and a busy one!

Entry filed under: goddess cards, letting go, On my own. Tags: , , , , , , , .

What??? and other random thoughts Weekend Resumé

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


