Slight aversion to mundane tasks

July 2, 2009 at 9:14 pm Leave a comment

Yes, I admit it. I’d rather dream than deal with some things. Today I finally cancelled a subscription to a newspaper. It’s great, but I just don’t get around to reading it every day. Then I called to have the address changed on the other newspaper subscription. That newspaper is lighter fare, and the kids like to read it as well. I’d felt guilty about cancelling the one, because I’d previously enjoyed a free two-month subscription, and somehow felt obligated to continue.

With the other subscription, there was also guilt — about changing the address. That means it doesn’t go to the house any more. But heck, I was was the one who ordered it in the first place. And anyway, my husband did say he doesn’t need it.

I slept most of the morning, after another crazy night with the cats. Then dealt with the above tasks. But those were easy enough. The big deal was calling the service line of my internet provider. I don’t really understand much about computers, but the wireless connection wasn’t working. My computer has a cable, but my daughter’s wasn’t hooked up. So today I gathered my courage and called.

It worked! Even though I don’t understand it, the service operator was able to walk me through it, laughed kindly at my mistakes, patiently answered my repeated questions, and eventually it worked. So now both of our computers are wireless and I was able to get rid of the cable which lay on the floor and prevented me from being able to close my door.

By then it was late afternoon. I’d planned to go to the Tibetan Monastery with a friend, but was so tired, I just didn’t have the energy. Yet on the spur of the moment, I decided to go after all. She was delighted that I showed up.

The monks chanted/sang and I sat there and took it all in. During the first 5 minutes I was overcome by a rush of emotion and could barely subdue my tears. Later my friend said she was also overcome. We speculated that their chants were a magical spoon that stirs around whatever is inside of us. After settling down, I dozed off a few times. I was tired.

Then came today’s great revelation: Not only do I need enough food to maintain my energy, I also need enough sleep. Only when I am physically fit do I have the energy and awareness to recognize and implement the signs the universe sends me. And on the other hand, when I am tired, I need to accept that, rather than push myself to the point of no return.

It’s not really an earth-shattering revelation, but it did clarify things for me and remind me how important it is to take care of myself. And believe me, I really do want to function the best I can.

On the lighter side, the mundane tasks of housework don’t bother me as much anymore. I just take care of things when I recognize the necessity. And nobody is there to scold me or give me a pained look when things are not done. What a relief!

Entry filed under: Affirmations, daily challenges. Tags: , , , , .

Two months have passed Unexpected peace of mind

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


