I’m so excited!

July 12, 2009 at 9:43 pm Leave a comment

Now that I’ve recuperated a bit from bidding my son adieu for 3 weeks, and I worked 10 hours today, I was sitting outside on the balcony with the cats, drinking a glass of wine, and it suddenly occurred to me: I am on vacation for a week! Yahoo!

Tomorrow I can straighten up and pack, and then Tuesday I’m off on an adventure. I’ll take the train to Prague, where I reserved a room in a hotel for two nights. That gives me a chance to wander around the city, and Wednesday night Patti Smith is playing a concert. My “concert friend” will arrive the day of the concert, so we can spend the afternoon together. I met him at a Patti Smith concert 11 years ago. Since then, we’ve been to two Bob Dylan concerts and several Patti Smith concerts — and had our share of adventure along the way.

The day after the concert I get back on the train and head to Salzburg for one night to visit a good friend. Then I’m off to Vienna to visit another friend and spend the night there. Then I head to Styria for two nights for a garden party at another friend’s house. I look forward to good company and new impressions.

My husband will keep an eye on my daughter, and I’m sure all will go well. It is strange, though. Since I moved, I am so happy to be home. It’s hard to go out. In the past, my trips were a combination of excitement and escape. I was utterly relieved to get out of the house for any length of time.

Now it’s a real vacation, and yet I will look forward to coming home again. I am filled with gratitude at how the quality of my life has changed over the past couple of months. It is amazing how quickly things can change — in this case, definitely for the better. Thought I have an irregular work schedule and days off in between, the idea of being away for an entire week thrills me.

Funny, too, that I am willing to be content attending only one Patti Smith concert. She is playing four concerts this week, and they are not so far apart. But I already had plans, and I will stick to those plans. If this had happened a year ago, I’d probably be yearning to go to all four concerts. But now I am happy with my life, look forward to visiting with friends, and that’s how it is.

I am grateful for this life. Grateful to have come so far, to have recovered, and to be able to enjoy what life has to offer. Thank you higher power!

Entry filed under: free time, friends, journey of life, patti smith. Tags: , , , , , .

Time out and dinner Disappointment

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


