Birthday Numbers

July 22, 2009 at 6:39 pm Leave a comment

When she was 23 years old, my mother gave birth to a little girl. Today my mother turns 70. Her little girl is not quite 47, and in 23 years, that little girl will turn 70 as well. When I was going on 23, I moved to a foreign country. My mother was 46 at the time. I thought she was rather old. I guess it’s all a matter of perspective.

It is strange to think that I am as old as she was then, and in 23 years, I will be as old as she is today. But what’s really strange, is to think that my mother is getting old. It just doesn’t seem possible. And she still hasn’t really grown up yet!

Here’s to my crazy mother, who has loved and supported me as best she could since the day I was born. When I am 70, my daughter will be 40. The greatest honor for me would be if she then felt the same love and gratitude towards me that I feel for my own mother. But not until she’s 40! Who appreciates their own mother when they are 16 going on 17? I sure didn’t!

Cheers! Happy Birthday, Mom. I love you.

Mom and me

Mom and me

Entry filed under: mothers and daughters. Tags: , , , , .

Back home (3) Where’s the enlightenment from the trip?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


