In Transition

July 29, 2009 at 11:57 pm Leave a comment

is not an easy place to be. I noticed that this afternoon as I drove home, after stopping by the house to pick up a few things and talk with my husband. I felt a wave of sadness come over me, and could barely control myself. As I drove back to my apartment, the tears streamed. Sadness about what had been, what hadn’t been, what could have been. It hit me quite by surprise. I like to be cool, to have it all together, to be optimistic and excited about the future. Usually I am, but today those other feelings came over me.

Big change is a big deal. There’s no avoiding the moments of sudden emotion. This evening I got together with a dear friend and talked. It was a pleasant summer evening. We went to an outdoor café and had a couple of glasses of wine.

It was just 10 pm when I got home. That’s when I fell into a black hole. I sat for a while, wrote in my journal, watched the cat play, cried a bit, and now feel somewhat better. It’s just not always a comfortable place to be. But it’s where I’m at right now.

I thought about what I need to do to clear things up a bit, to give me some solid ground beneath my feet. Now I’ll get a good night’s sleep. Tomorrow is a new day.

Entry filed under: daily challenges. Tags: , , , , , .

Just one step: Addendum Life after separation

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


