Another birthday

August 17, 2009 at 9:47 am Leave a comment

My son turns 15 today! It just doesn’t seem possible that so much time has passed. It is my children that help me keep track of the years, as I watch them growing up. He is a kind, gentle, beautiful person, and he’d die of embarrassment if he knew I was writing this. Just about a month ago the “you’re so embarrassing” phase started. Since I already experienced it with my daughter, I know better than to take it personally. I’m grateful for all the years before that.

I always felt he brought light into my life. One year when we flew to the States to visit my family, the children each got a teddy bear from the airline. When you pressed their stomachs, they sang: “You are my sunshine, my only sunshine.” They played with their bears all the way from the airport to my brother’s apartment. Luckily he has kids of his own and took it with a sense of humor — and sang along merrily, saying “Again! Again!” each time the song was finished.

Here’s a little song for my sunshine.

You are the sunshine of my life
Thats why I’ll always be around,
You are the apple of my eye,
Forever you’ll stay in my heart

I feel like this is the beginning,
Though I’ve loved you for a million years,
And if I thought our love was ending,
I’d find myself drowning in my own tears.

You are the sunshine of my life,
Thats why I’ll always stay around,
You are the apple of my eye,
Forever you’ll stay in my heart,

You must have known that I was lonely,
Because you came to my rescue,
And I know that this must be heaven,
How could so much love be inside of you?

You are the sunshine of my life, yeah,
Thats why I’ll always stay around,
You are the apple of my eye,
Forever you’ll stay in my heart.

(background) love has joined us,
Love has joined us,
Lets think sweet love.

Entry filed under: children. Tags: , , , , , .

The easy way out: Breaking the habit The brighter side of the board

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


