A life in a day

October 6, 2009 at 6:35 am Leave a comment

The other day I heard an interesting concept, which has since added a degree of lightness to my step and joy to my heart. What is it? “Every single day is a whole life.”

This approach has a fun aspect to it. Whereas “make the most of every day” has something close to admonishment in it for me — as well as a command to achieve, to view today as a life of its own gives me hope and excitement.

Perhaps it’s the idea of dealing with the day at hand. There’s no pressure to make the most of it, there’s just the challenge of living today. Yesterday I noticed that I was more in the now, enjoying the moment.

Wow! I got a few errands run, worked, had a doctor’s appointment (which I’d put off for around a year!), and in the evening both of my kids were here. I enjoyed their company. We talked, joked, played cards, and each had some time alone as well. It was simply a life, without the burden of the future or the past.

And today I have another life!

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The “incorrigible tendency to compromise” The universe provides

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


