Today’s life

October 9, 2009 at 9:25 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been kind of down all day, and this evening I debated whether or not it would make sense to write about it. I mean, who wants to hear that I’m depressed, overwhelmed, and such things? Most people have their own stuff to deal with, and don’t need to be bogged down with my sad story.

Just the other day, I wrote that every day is a life. Today I felt like a bear and was longing for hiberation. Everything is too much and I’d just as soon sleep. Work is challenging, my school project terrifies me (how will I ever do it?), my daughter is still in the throes of adolescence, I wish I could play the guitar better, and I’m broke. I could say I’m lonely, but I prefer being alone at the moment. So I won’t complain.

A little while ago I went out and sat on my trusted balcony, where I have spent countless evenings during the past five months. It offers comfort in abundance. I looked at the sky, listened to the rain, and then it clicked. Things are getting to me because I forgot about today. I was focussing on all the stuff I have to do before I go to the States next July! (Today I decided I’m going over for my 30th high school reunion.) Naturally, I can’t do it all today.

With that in mind, I acknowledge that I cannot read all of the course literature tonight — even if I stay up all night. No, all I can do is accept the fact that I have a lot of work to do in all areas of my life.

This morning I was at work at 6:30 am. So I started off tired, since I didn’t get enough sleep. Afterwards I’d planned to go to the gym, but I came home, put on a CD and lay on the couch for an hour instead. In the afternoon I had a good voice lesson and got helpful feedback and encouragement. Afterwards I met a friend at a cafĂ© and we had a delightful, insightful chat for a couple of hours. I practiced guitar at home. What a great life!

Tomorrow is open stage and I want to go and sing a few of my songs. During the day I can do some school work. Oh, I nearly forgot! My apartment is also quite a mess and needs to be vacuumed. (No matter where I live, my apartments all tend to reflect what’s going on inside me. How do they do that?!) I can take care of it tomorrow, since I won’t do school work the entire day. And in the evening my reward will be to go out and play.

As far as being broke. Well, the rent has been paid, there is food in the fridge and pantry, and it will work out somehow. It always does. For now, I think I’ll make the most of this bear’s life and go to bed. I can hibernate until the morning.

Entry filed under: daily challenges. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The universe provides Hairy stuff

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What's on my mind


