What matters

January 11, 2011 at 5:30 pm 2 comments

Who hasn’t once or twice thought: “If only …. had been different, just imagine where I would be today!” If I’d grown up somewhere else, had different parents, a different childhood, different schooling, different friends, different coping mechanisms, not had an eating disorder… ad nauseum.

Lately I’ve been reading a lot, and not blogging much. The latter is obvious enough. Reading “Myths to live by” from Joseph Campbell, and I came across a “where I could have been” thought. As long as we hold on to such thoughts, we cannot realize our full potential.

To make a long story short: It’s not about what I could have been, it’s about what I am and who I am. Now. I don’t think I need to expound on this, but every time I say that or think it, I feel a tingly wave go through me and an exquisite sense of relief, as the old baggage melts away.

Entry filed under: Affirmations. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Plugging along The River

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. carolynlboyd  |  March 8, 2011 at 1:45 am

    I really like your statement “It’s not about what I could have been, it’s about what I am and who I am.” That’s very wise!

    Reply
    • 2. diaryofarecoveredbulimic  |  March 13, 2011 at 2:25 pm

      Thank you! It’s also reassuring and comforting!

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Most recent comment

Optimism or pessimis… on Another Lockdown
diaryofarecoveredbul… on Normal Eating (how I learned t…
diaryofarecoveredbul… on Normal Eating (how I learned t…
diaryofarecoveredbul… on Normal Eating (how I learned t…
diaryofarecoveredbul… on Bulimia, smoking and drin…
diaryofarecoveredbul… on Bulimia, Stress and Starting…
alice1809 on Just one step
George on Just one step